I Will Restore

WP_20170525_07_42_23_Pro

For I will restore health to you, and your wounds I will heal, declares the LORD, because they have called you an outcast: ‘It is Zion, for whom no one cares!’ Psalm 51:12

I recently made the decision to cut off my ten-year old dreadlocks in aspiration of having loose natural hair. At one time, my dreadlocks were ideal for me – they were easy to care for and maintain and my hair thrived and grew easily in that style. But over the years as they grew out, they became more weighty. I also adopted a pet dog who shed tons and tons of hair daily which required me to wear my hair up most of the time and keep it covered constantly. Even so, my dog’s hair still managed to get caught in my dreadlocks along with the material from my clothing which limited me to wearing only certain fabrics. Keeping my dreadlocks neat and clean was becoming more and more tedious and exasperating.

This made my decision to part with my locs all the more easier.

Having cut my dreadlocks, I literally went from hair that covered my derrière to about neck length hair.

It was a major change for me.

The first several days I felt bald-headed.

What comforted me however was the realization that in order to achieve my aspiration of loose natural hair, it was necessary to remove the dreadlocked hair and begin again. I also accepted that it would be a process to reach a considerable length again.

Likewise, in our lives, God has to sometimes remove and release the old things from our lives that were no longer working for us in order to position us to receive the new things that He has prepared for us. Many times the process can be painful, confusing, or devastating, and may temporarily leave us feeling empty or out of sorts.

However.

However, if we trust that God is sovereign and has a plan for our lives – a plan that is good and not evil, we can rest assured that He is a God that restores the lost years of our lives.

God gave a promise to His people, Israel, in Joel 2:21-27 that is encouragement for us today if we choose to believe that He is able to restore to us all that we have lost.

Fear not, Earth! Be glad and celebrate!
God has done great things.
Fear not, wild animals!
The fields and meadows are greening up.
The trees are bearing fruit again:
a bumper crop of fig trees and vines!
Children of Zion, celebrate!
Be glad in your God.
He’s giving you a teacher
to train you how to live right—
Teaching, like rain out of heaven, showers of words
to refresh and nourish your soul, just as he used to do.
And plenty of food for your body—silos full of grain,
casks of wine and barrels of olive oil.

“I’ll make up for the years of the locust,
the great locust devastation—
Locusts savage, locusts deadly,
fierce locusts, locusts of doom,
That great locust invasion
I sent your way.
You’ll eat your fill of good food.
You’ll be full of praises to your God,
The God who has set you back on your heels in wonder.
Never again will my people be despised.
You’ll know without question
that I’m in the thick of life with Israel,
That I’m your God, yes, your God,
the one and only real God.
Never again will my people be despised.

I pray that you choose to believe with me that He is able to restore all that you have lost.

Leave a Reply

