In Quietness and Confidence….

 
WP_20170425_07_36_05_Pro
 

Life doesn’t always fall out the way that we’ve hoped for or the way that we’ve planned.

Not at all.

I’ve never had grandiose dreams of being rich and famous.  To be honest, an extravagant and luxurious life has never really appealed to me.  Neither does a thrilling and adventurous life.

The life I envisioned for myself was very simple – a loving husband and a cozy little home  filled with the cheerful pitter-patter of tiny feet running around.

I had it all mapped out ‘to a T’ – right down to the color of my house – white with a yellow trim and vibrant red flowers lining the driveway.  I’d say that the life I envisioned for myself was an ideal storybook life – void of any major issues and ending in the well known phrase, ‘ and they lived happily ever after’.

My storybook plot began well enough.  Girl meets boy, falls in love, gets married and they begin a life together.  But the happily ever after that I dreamed of never came. 

The happy marriage that I had hoped for was riddled with tension and chaos and ended in tragic demise after seven years.  The children that I had desired never were.  And the cozy little home followed the same pattern as everything else – it just never came about.   Changing my happily ever after into happily never after.

However.

However, even in the midst of deferred dreams, I see God’s hand at work in my life. I find great comfort in the truth that He is completely and absolutely sovereign. He’s been using the good and the bad events and experiences in my life to draw me nearer to Himself. All along, He has been at work in my life – molding and forming me into a better person.

A new person.

I know that God has been orchestrating the events in my life all along to bring me to the storybook ending that He Himself has written for my life.  Knowing this, I have since thrown out my script in exchange for His. I am learning to simply be content with His plan and to wait quietly as it unfolds around me.

I am comforted to know that God knows everything about me. He not only knows my desires, but is the One who has placed those very desires into my heart and is able to bring them to pass even as I lay amidst the ruins and debri of my shattered dreams. I trust that God is yet able to transform my desolate place into a beautiful and thriving garden.

And they shall say, This land that was desolate is become like the garden of Eden; and the waste and desolate and ruined cities are become fenced, and are inhabited (Ezekiel 36:35)

The wilderness and the solitary place shall be glad for them; and the desert shall rejoice, and blossom as the rose (Isaiah 35:1).

Today, I want to share a bit of encouragement and hope to anyone out
there who may be discouraged about the way that their life has turned out. Know that, if you love God and are His child, He is working it all out for your good (Romans 8;28). He has good thoughts of you and His intention is never to cause you harm. He is even now bringing you to your expected end (Jeremiah 29:11).

So quiet your heart and simply trust God.

For the Lord GOD, the Holy One of Israel has said; In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength….Isaiah 30:15

Leave a Reply

